Uncategorized

The Magic Of Christmas!

It’s been a busy week back to piano lessons!  Hope you were able to come back feeling a little bit refreshed.  One student told me he didn’t get as much done as he thought he would and that really resonated with me!  I spent hours restoring order to my desk and studio and preparing the Christmas ensembles and though much was accomplished, the time flew by so fast that I realized I didn’t get nearly as much done as I thought I would.  It was still a valuable break, though.

ENSEMBLE NUMBERS
This week I introduced the ensemble numbers for the recital and there is one number that ALL students will be involved in again just like last spring and last Christmas!  It will be our finale of the concert.  The selection is The Magic of Christmas Day by Celine Dion.  ALL the students from MYC to the older students in Private Lessons will learn the chorus and the Sunbeams 1 and 2 classes will sing the first verse while the Sunbeams 3 and Moonbeams 3 sing the second verse.  I handed out the music to students this week to practice  at home but here is a youtube video with lyrics and music to sing a long to if you prefer…or just listen to and enjoy.  We will only be singing the two verses and chorus, no bridge.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WOBVWZflMdU

PRACTICING FOR PENNIES
Last year we “practiced for pennies” and raised well over $100 for Food for the Hungry and many students requested we do it again this year!  So we are!  Participation is optional and all you have to do to participate is record how many minutes you practice the piano each day!  I will sponsor each student at one penny per minute of practice!  If you want to recruit aunts or uncles or grandparents as sponsors as well that is entirely up to you.  Here’s a little look at last year’s Practicing for Pennies:
https://mmmusicstudio.wordpress.com/2013/11/19/practicing-for-pennies/

https://mmmusicstudio.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/december-news/

Leave a comment